The Lake Simcoe Region Conservation Authority

Riverine Flood Status
Lake Simcoe Shoreline Status
Low Water Status
All of the 2023 conservation award recipients standing side by side on the stage with a red curtain behind them.

Lake Simcoe Region Conservation Authority hands out 19 awards to environmental champions

Event celebrates citizens dedicated to watershed health

Newmarket – October 11, 2023 – At its 41st annual Conservation Awards ceremony, held at NewRoads Performing Arts Centre on October 10, the Lake Simcoe Region Conservation Authority paid tribute to 19 incredible individuals, businesses, and groups who are working hard to improve our environment.

“In a world facing unprecedented environmental challenges, it’s inspiring to see the dedication of these individuals and businesses in our communities, who are contributing to the solution,” said Conservation Authority Chair and York Region Chairman and CEO, Wayne Emmerson. “Their stories and achievements continue to give us hope for a more sustainable future in our watershed.”

Conservation Authority Chief Administrative Officer Rob Baldwin, added, “Coming together to honor these outstanding individuals and their contributions generates energy and optimism. With this celebration, we want our award recipients to know that we deeply appreciate their efforts because they have such a positive ripple effect throughout our community.”

Below is a list of the 19 recipients who received awards this year.

Full details about their achievements, including pictures and videos, can be found on our website here:

Healthy Water Award (4 recipients)

  1. City of Barrie
  2. Mike Lanigan (Township of Uxbridge)
  3. Town of Innisfil
  4. Town of Bradford West Gwillimbury

Healthy Land Award (7 recipients)

  1. Bruce Gooch (Township of Oro-Medonte)
  2. Christine Halbot (City of Kawartha Lakes)
  3. Craig Hayhoe (Township of King)
  4. Don Chapman Farms Ltd. (Town of East Gwillimbury)
  5. John and Jackie Sowerby (Township of King)
  6. Keld and Angela Greflund (Township of Brock)
  7. Trevor Beatty (Township of Brock)

Healthy Community Award (6 recipients)

  1. Aurora Community Arboretum (Town of Aurora)
  2. Counterpoint Engineering Inc. (Towns of Aurora, East Gwillimbury and Township of King)
  3. DG Group (Towns of Aurora, East Gwillimbury and Township of King)
  4. Donald, Mary, and Shona Taylor (Town of Bradford West Gwillimbury)
  5. St. Jean de Brebeuf Catholic Elementary School (Town of Bradford West Gwillimbury)
  6. TS Tech (Town of Newmarket)

Ernie Crossland Young Conservationist Award

1st Uxbridge Scout Group (Town of Uxbridge)

George R. Richardson Conservation Award of Honour

Wil Wegman (Posthumously – Lake Simcoe Watershed)

Our mission is to collaborate to protect and restore the Lake Simcoe watershed with innovative research, policy, and action.

– 30 –

Media Contact:Sinem Connor, Senior Communications Advisor

Mobile: 289-763-4507

Scroll to Top